A Painless Way to Cut Back on (or Quit) Facebook

About a month ago, I came to the realization that Facebook was nothing but a bunch of brain clutter. And they wanted me to be the audience. So I unfollowed everyone. I did not defriend anyone, but I unfollowed them so that their posts do not appear in my newsfeed. I wasn’t sure how it would work out. But I am happy to say it’s working beautifully! If you really want to keep your friends that you had from grade school, don’t defriend them. But if you have discovered, as I had, that you really have nothing in common with them, just unfollow them.

If I am really curious about their lives, I can still go see their pages and see their silly posts and their grandkids pictures, and all the nonsense and maybe, there will be something there about how they are living their lives (but I really doubt it). I no longer have that nagging desire to check my newsfeed constantly, and Comment, Like, and all the other habits I had before. I love it! I have more time to myself, more time for creativity, more time to be outdoors, more time to really be talking to people face-to-face.

So if you have heard about deactivating your Facebook account and are wondering if this is the route you should take, you may consider just unfollowing everyone. EVERYONE. You will still have your contacts if you want them, but you won’t have this constant obsession with your newsfeed.

What a great way to start the new year!

3 thoughts on “A Painless Way to Cut Back on (or Quit) Facebook

Leave a Reply

